Elks Hoop Shoot Winners

Carter Boomsma was the overall champion of the local competition of the Elks Hoop Shoot free throw competition, held earlier this month in Yankton. Boomsma hit 23 of 25 free throw attempts to also win the boys’ 12-13 year-old division. Winners in each division advance to the state finals, Feb. 1 in Pierre. Top finishers (from Yankton unless noted) include (front) Keeley Larson of Wakonda (1st, girls’ 12-13), Jaisie Janssen of Crofton (2nd, girls’ 12-13), Olivia Rye (1st, girls’ 8-9), Brooklynn Tucker of Crofton (2nd, girls’ 8-9), Bailey Mines (1st, girls’ 10-11), (back) Austin Johnson (2nd, boys’ 8-9), Blake Connot of Crofton (1st, boys’ 8-9), Simon Kampshoff (2nd, boys’ 10-11), Connor Mebius of Hartford (1st, boys’ 10-11), Braxston Foxhoven of Crofton (2nd, boys’ 12-13) and Boomsma.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.