HARRISBURG — Beresford-Alcester-Hudson and Yankton placed fifth and sixth in the 13-team Harrisburg Invitational wrestling tournament on Saturday.

Harrisburg edged Madison 226 to 225.5 for top honors. Aberdeen Central (168.5) was third, followed by Sioux Falls Roosevelt (157).

BAH finished at 153.5 points, led by champion Logan Serck (132). Payton Borah (138) and Trevor Stene (152) each placed second, Jovey Christensen (120) and Andrew Jensen (195) each finished third, Ethan Reed (182) placed fourth, and Jace Wurth (285), and Izaak Reed (145) and Wyatt Knudson (160) each finished fifth

Yankton scored 110.5 points, led by champion Owen Warren (182) and runner-up finishes from Tucker Bahm (106) and Trevor Ellis (285). Also for the Bucks, Cruz Dyer (113) was finished fourth, Taten Bahm (120) placed fifth, and Kyler Lillie (126) and Owen Phillips (220) finished sixth

Dakota Valley finished at 34 points.

Tri-Valley Inv.

COLTON — Winner beat out Kimball-White Lake-Platte-Geddes for top honors in the 15-team Tri-Valley Invitational on Saturday.

Winner finished at 250 points, followed by KWLPG (228.5), Dell Rapids (147) and Bon Homme-Scotland-Avon (142).

For KWLPG, Tyler Resick improved to 19-1 with the 220-pound title. Also in the tourney, Carter Lenz (113), Grayson Hanson (120), Levi Nightingale (160) and Jacob Novak (195) each finished second, Wyatt Talbott (132), Cody Westendorf (182) and Austin Severson (285) each placed third, Kyler Konstanz (106) placed fourth, and Spencer Hanson (145) placed fifth.

Parker finished sixth with 108 points, led by 170-pound champion Tanner Even. For the Pheasants, Logan Buseman (113) placed fourth, Kaleb Buseman (132) and Blake Eldeen (152) each finished fifth, and Tanner Preheim (106), Charlie Patten (160), Levi Wierman (195) and Geoff Dunkelberger (285) each placed sixth

Elk Point-Jefferson finished seventh with 102 points, led by heavyweight champion Drake Peed. For the Huskies, Lucas Hueser (106) finished second, Brody Weavill (145) placed third, Alex Junck (170) finished fourth and Joseph Weis (120) finished sixth.

Marion-Freeman scored 47.5 points. Daniel Cremer (152) placed third and Ty Balvin (182) finished fourth for the Rebels.

Andes Central-Dakota Christian had three points on the day.

Battle Creek Inv.

BATTLE CREEK, Neb. — Host Battle Creek ran away with team honors in the 18-team Battle Creek Invitational wrestling tournament on Saturday.

Battle Creek finished at 214 points, followed by Pierce (184.5), Elkhorn Valley (146), Oakland-Craig (141) and Howells-Dodge (107).

Creighton finished sixth at 101 points. For the Bulldogs, 170-pounder Bryce Zimmerer suffered his first setback of the season, a 5-3 loss to Randolph’s Noah Scott in the championship.

Also for Creighton, Cody Hanvey (132) finished third, Brody Vrooman (285) finished fourth; R.J. Wilmes (138), Brenden Waldow (160) and Terance Burrell (195) each placed fifth; Sam Vortherms (145) and J.D. Kuhlman (152) each placed sixth, and Shane Farnik (120) placed eighth for the Bulldogs.

Randolph placed eighth with 68 points, with Scott (170) and Brandon Bloomquist (152) each winning titles. Alex Schmit (145) finished third for the Cardinals.

Crofton-Bloomfield finished ninth with 64 points. William Poppe (126) finished second, Jared Janssen (220) placed third, Hudson Barger (106) placed fifth, Tyson Sauser (132) finished sixth and Calvin Dather (182) finished eighth in the tourney.

Hartington Cedar Catholic placed 10th with 60.5 points. Turner Korth (145) finished second; Kerby Hochstein (126), Ethan Koch (160) and Eric Hoesing (182) each finished fourth; and Carson Jones (106) placed eighth for the Trojans.

Ponca scored 58 points. Ben McDuffee (285) finished third, Dalton Anderson (132) and Michael Logue each finished fifth, and Andrew Daly (182) placed sixth for the Indians.

Wakefield-Allen finished with 50 points. Isaac Verzani finished third, suffering his first loss of the season to Randolph’s Bloomquist in the 152-pound semifinals. Charlie Lopez (132) and Wyatt Verzani (138) each placed fourth, Gabe Lamprecht (126) placed sixth and Juan Lopez placed eighth in the effort.

Laurel-Concord-Coleridge scored 17 points, led by a fourth place finish from Ethan Williams (220).

Niobrara-Verdigre finished with 15 points, led by seventh place finishes from Toby Ives (126) and Beau Hrbek (195). Gavin Chohon (170) placed eighth for the Cougars.

Jerry Opbroek Inv.

MITCHELL — Wagner scored 65 points and Parkston scored 62 points in the nine-team Jerry Opbroek Invitational wrestling tournament on Saturday in Mitchell.

Rapid City Stevens won the event with 133 points. East Ridge finished at 127.5, followed by Watertown (126) and Pierre (108).

K.J. St. Pierre won the 220-pound title for Wagner. Also for the Red Raiders, Bradyn Lhotak (126) and Dawson Lensing (285) each finished second, and Lance Soukup (120) placed third.

Lucas Bietz won the 160-pound title for Parkston. Also for the Trojans, Riley Weber (106) placed second, Slayton Neugebauer finished third and Rocky Berg (138) placed fourth.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.