WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. — KYNT sportscaster Scott Kooistra has been selected as the South Dakota Sportscaster of the Year, as voted on by members of the National Sports Media Association.

It is the first time Kooistra has been awarded the honor. He joins Joe Van Goor (2006), Steve Imming (1998), Tom Maxwell (1997), Norm Hilson (1972-73, 1980-81) and Hod Nielsen (1976) as Yankton-based broadcasters to win the award.

John Thayer, who does the play-by-play for University of South Dakota women’s basketball and is also a member of the broadcast team for USD football, was also a finalist for the award.

Mitchell’s Ryan Deal was named the state’s sportswriter of the year for a third straight year. The Press & Dakotan’s Jeremy Hoeck, a two-time winner, was the other finalist for the award.

The honors will be presented during the 61st annual NSMA awards banquet, June 29 in Winston-Salem, North Carolina.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.