VERMILLION — University of South Dakota head men’s basketball coach Craig Smith is one of 10 finalists for the Joe B. Hall award given annually to the top first-year coach in Division I college basketball.

Smith was named South Dakota’s 17th head coach last March. He was one of 46 first-year head coaches in NCAA Division I and was one of 28 in their first season as a head coach at the Division I level.

Smith led the Coyotes to a 17-16 record for the program’s first winning season in four years. South Dakota beat every team in the Summit League at least once and finished with a 9-7 mark in league play, good for fourth place. The Coyotes also won their first Summit League Tournament game in three tries.

South Dakota was the only Summit League team with a winning record on the road at 8-7. The Coyotes’ eight road victories rank in the top 30 nationally. The team also had four winning streaks of three games or more.

The award is named in the honor of Joe B. Hall who was given the task of following the legendary Adolph Rupp. In his first season at the University of Kentucky, Hall finished 20-8, won the SEC and advanced to the NCAA Regional Finals.

The recipient of the 2015 award will be announced at the Awards Banquet on April 3 in Indianapolis, site of the 2015 men’s division I basketball championship.

Two other Summit League coaches were also named finalists: Jon Coffman (Fort Wayne) and Dave Richman (North Dakota State).

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.