VERMILLION — Tournaments in Florida, New Mexico and Arizona highlight the 2020 South Dakota softball schedule announced Tuesday by head coach Robert Wagner.

The Coyotes open with six weekend tournaments before diving into Summit League play March 21 at Omaha. South Dakota’s home opener is the following weekend, March 28-29, against North Dakota. USD will also host Western Illinois (April 4-5), Iowa State (April 22) and South Dakota State (May 1-2).

On the non-conference slate are 30 teams representing 16 different conferences including four from the Big Ten and two from the Pac-12. Eight are 2019 NCAA Tournament participants and 16 finished in the top 100 of the RPI.

USD is meeting nine teams for the first time including Indiana (March 7) and Ohio State (March 14). Nine are rematches from a year ago including Purdue (Feb. 15), Arizona State (March 10), Nebraska (April 7) and Iowa State.

Scattered in between Summit League series are the game at Nebraska, a two-game series with Kansas City (April 14-15) and the home game against Iowa State. It will mark the Cyclones first trip to Vermillion.

The Summit League Tournament will take place May 6-9 in Fargo, North Dakota. The top six teams will qualify for the tournament and the top-two seeds will earn byes into the four-team, double-elimination tournament. The winner receives the Summit’s automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.