Several area individuals were recognized as Academic All-State by the South Dakota Football Coaches Association.

To be recognized, a senior student-athlete, statistician or manager must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or better on a 4.0 scale, and have participated in the sport for at least three seasons.

Here are the area honorees:

YANKTON: Dylan Yaggie, Luke Barnes

ALCESTER-HUDSON: Elizabeth Hallaway

BERESFORD: Brady Christensen, Alex Docken, Layne Miller

BON HOMME: Cole Bares, Nate Scieszinski, Joshua Crownover , Kaden Kozak , Connor Peters, Riley Hellmann

CANISTOTA-FREEMAN: Bailey Sage, Harley Cormany, Micah Swensen, Skylar Bultje, Trey Ortman


DAKOTA VALLEY: Braeden Wickey, Brian Wickey

ELK POINT-JEFFERSON: Josh Lehman, Adam Grashoff

IRENE-WAKONDA: Alison Logue, Jacob Jensen, Evan Logue, Cal Lucas, Gavin Spurrell, Tate Van Beek, Samantha Aune

MENNO-MARION: Gavin Pankratz, Aidan Friesen, Avery Handel, Grant Handel

PARKER: Mace Plucker

PARKSTON: Nathan Doering, Nathan Boettcher, Cole Van Zee, Tyrese Friederich, Rylan Leischner

PLATTE-GEDDES: Kade Starr, Landon Schulte

SCOTLAND: Ty Mogck , Derek Pravecek

VERMILLION: Ayden Lewison, Trevor Tarr, Brock Voss

VIBORG-HURLEY: Ethan Engen, Shane Andersen, Justin Harms


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.