BROOKINGS — Two coaches with area ties will be recognized by the South Dakota Football Coaches Association as Region Coaches of the Year during the South Dakota High School Activities Association state football finals on Nov. 15 in Brookings. The awards will be presented at halftime of the Class 11AAA championship.

Elk Point-Jefferson head coach Jake Terry was named the Region 6 Coach of the Year. He led the Huskies to a post-season berth in Class 11B.

Sturgis head coach Chris Koletzky was named the Region 4 Coach of the Year. The Yankton grad led the Scoopers to the fourth seed in the Class 11AA playoffs.

Also earning Region Coach of the Year honors were Webster Area’s Tanner Christensen (Region 1), Deuel’s Dusty Hourigan (Region 2), Sully Buttes’ Mark Senftner (Region 3), Sioux Falls Lincoln’s Jared Fredenburg (Region 5), Gregory’s John King (Region 7) and New Underwood’s Brady Carmichael (Region 8).

Also during the presentation, Jeff Van Leur of Bridgewater-Emery-Ethan will be presented with the SDFBCA 40-Year Coaching Award, and SDHSAA Administrative Assistant Barb Haberling will be presented with the SDFBCA State Friend of Football Award.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.