BRANDON — The Yankton Bucks matched their Monday score, shooting a 307 to place third in the two-day Warrior-Lynx Invitational. Tuesday’s final round was played at Brandon Golf Course, after playing at Willow Run Golf Course in Sioux Falls on Monday.

Sioux Falls Lincoln posted a two-day score of 601 to hold off Sioux Falls Roosevelt (603) and Yankton (614) for the title. O’Gorman was fourth at 615 after sharing third with the Bucks on Monday. Rapid City Stevens (618) rounded out the first five of the 15-team event.

Roosevelt’s Jack Lundin, the South Dakota Golf Association amateur champion earlier this month, beat Lincoln’s Jack Hilgenberg in a one-hole playoff for top honors. Each shot 144 in the tournament.

Stevens’ Ben Daane finished one stroke off the pace to place third. Zach Curd of O’Gorman, the first-round leader, finished two strokes back. Yankton’s Austin Frick and Roosevelt’s Jack Eggebraaten each finished with two-day scores of 148.

Harrisburg’s Will Allen had the lone round under par on Tuesday, shooting a 3-under 68. He tied for 10th at 151.

Yankton’s Gavin Haselhorst finished the two-day event at 150, tying for ninth. Landon Moe (155) tied for 19th, with Dawson Vellek (161) tying for 28th and Simon Hacecky (165) tying for 34th.

Also for Yankton, Jimmie Cunningham shot an 85 on Tuesday. He did not play in Monday’s round.

Yankton plays the first of four home events on Thursday, hosting Lincoln and Washington. Start time is 1 p.m. at Fox Run Golf Course.

TEAM SCORES: 1, Lincoln 298-303—601; 2, Roosevelt 301-302—603; 3, Yankton 307-307—614; 4, O’Gorman 307-308—615; 5, Stevens 314-304—618; 6, Aberdeen Central 322-318—640; t7, Harrisburg 326-315—641; Watertown 321-320—641; 9, Brandon Valley 322-331—653; 10, Washington 346-335—681; t11, Mitchell 351-341—692; Pierre 345-347—692; 13, Spearfish 361-350—711; 14, Brookings 376-372—748; DNF, Huron DNF-356

TOP 15: 1, Jack Lundin, Roosevelt 72-72—144 (won 1-hole playoff); 2, Jack Hilgenberg, Lincoln 73-71—144; 3, Ben Daane, Stevens 73-72—145; 4, Zach Curd, O’Gorman 69-77—146; 5, Austin Frick, Yankton 75-73—148; 6, Jack Eggebraaten, Roosevelt 73-75—148; 7, Phil Enderson, O’Gorman 76-74—150; 8, Ethan Vikander, Aberdeen Central 72-78—150; 9, Gavin Haselhorst, Yankton 73-77—150; 10, Will Allen, Harrisburg 83-68—151; 12, Jonah Swartz, Stevens 73-78—151; 13, Braydon Jones, Aberdeen Central 77-75—152; 14, Max Dailey, Mitchell 79-74—153; 15, Emmet Hansen, Brandon Valley 76-77—153

OTHER YHS: T19, Landon Moe 76-79—155; t28, Dawson Vellek 83-78—161; t34, Simon Hacecky 83-82—165; Jimmie Cunningham (85 on Tuesday); Henry Homstad (86 on Monday)


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.