SIOUX FALLS — Two individuals with area ties are among the 10 individuals selected for induction into the South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame.

Doug Eggers of Wagner and Lavern Diede of Freeman were among those selected for induction at the 2020 annual banquet, set for April 25 at the Sioux Falls Convention Center.

Eggers had an outstanding football career at South Dakota State, then played professionally with the Baltimore Colts for five seasons. Diede was very instrumental in the early development of girls’ sports in the state, especially track & field and cross country.

Also selected for the 2020 Class were Darwin Robinson of Redfield, Kevin Leighton of Madison, Bruce Conley of Sioux Falls, Ken Ruml of Howard, Heather Sieler of Huron, Randy Fletcher of Lennox, Ron Mitchell of Sioux Falls and Steve Withorne (deceased).

The South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame was started by the South Dakota Sportswriters Association. It is now managed by a group of volunteers from across that state. There is a display honoring past Hall of Fame members and this year’s inductees inside the Denny Sanford Premier Center. The entire list of people enshrined can be found at the website

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.