SIOUX FALLS — After guiding the Cougars to the Class B boys’ state track championship last month, Viborg-Hurley’s Bill Hansen has been named the Boys’ Track & Field Coach of the Year, as part of the winners announced Wednesday by the South Dakota High School Coaches Association.

Other winners include: Madison’s Joey Liesinger (boys’ golf), Burke’s Billie Jo Indahl (girls’ golf), Brandon Valley’s Mike Zerr (tennis) and Deubrook Area’s Rachelle DeBeer (girls’ track & field).

The coaches will be recognized at the annual awards banquet on Sunday, July 7 at the Highland Conference Center in Mitchell at 1 p.m.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.