BROOKINGS — A total of 61 area student-athletes, managers and statisticians have been named Academic All-State, as selected by the South Dakota Basketball Coaches Association.

Six individuals from Yankton were given the award. For the Bucks, Ben Lambertz, Eric Kramer and Travis Seitzinger were honored. For the Gazelles, Ashley Sorenson, Sara Hochstein and Michelle Wieseler were honored.

Other area honorees, with statisticians and managers noted:

ALCESTER-HUDSON: Jud Evanson, Jenna M. Hughes, Kylie Jansen, Andrew Johnson, Ben Johnson, Heidi Sandbulte, Adam Scott

AVON: Kevin Eben, Cheray Gibson, Val Podzimek, Pam Tolsma, Lindsey Van Gerpen

BERESFORD: Ashley Anderson, Natalie Carda, Ryan Cocker, Eli Erickson, Seth McGill

BON HOMME: Ashley Evensen (Manager), Vicki Kaul, Megan Kloucek (Manager)

ELK POINT-JEFFERSON: Jason Donnelly, Justin Schmidt

FREEMAN: James Dreessen, Shane Strasser

GEDDES: Samantha Mushitz, Ashlee Schulte, Shaun Seiler, Chad Westendorf

IRENE: Kayla Poncelet, Chelsea Roesler, Naomi Sletten

MARION: Kayla Bialas, John Kippes

MENNO: Amanda Auch, Ashley Auch, Julie Bender, Nicole Heckenlaible, Cassie Schoenfish, Ben Taylor

PARKER: Russ Hanson, Kelsey Ihnen, Andrew Plucker

PARKSTON: Jared Boehmer, Shawn Schnabel, Carrie Varney (Stats)

SCOTLAND: Nathan Fischer, Tucker Hight, Adam Jerke, Justin Neth, Ashley Stewart

VERMILLION: Kyle Mollet, Ellen Odson, Matt Preszler, Jackie Thomas

WAGNER: Janelle Kuhlman, Kristi Soukup

WAKONDA: Alex Nielsen

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.