Mobile Disaster Recovery Centers  Set For Turner, Hutchinson Counties

From P&D Staff Reports


The State of South Dakota and the Federal Emergency Management Agency announced Wednesday that mobile Disaster Recovery Centers will be sent to Turner and Hutchinson counties to offer in-person support to individuals and businesses that suffered losses from the severe winter storms and flooding from mid-March to late April 2019.

Also, it was announced Wednesday that the Mobile Disaster Recovery Center that’s set up this week in Charles Mix County will be extended through July 19.

"We saw a large number of visitors each day and by keeping the DRC open we want to give everyone an opportunity to come in to register or get answers to their questions," said Pamela Saulsby, media relations specialist with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), in a press release.

The Charles Mix Couunty Mobile Disaster Recovery Center is operating at the County 4-H Building on 100 School Street in Lake Andes. It will open daily from 9 a.m.-6 p.m., but will be closed this Sunday.

Representatives from the state, FEMA, U.S. Small Business Administration, and other organizations are staffing the mobile centers to explain available assistance programs and help connect survivors with resources that best match their recovery needs.

Besides Charles Mix County, the upcoming area schedule includes:

• Turner County — July 15-18 (Monday-Thursday), Viborg City Hall, 110 N. Main St., Viborg.

• Hutchinson County — July 22-25 (Monday-Thursday), County Court House, 140 Euclid St., Olivet.

Both Centers are open 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. local time.

Individuals can visit any of the centers for assistance. Use the FEMA mobile app, or visit for additional fixed-site center locations.

The first step to receiving disaster assistance is to register with FEMA. You can do so:

• In person at the Disaster Recovery Center.

• Go online to or (for Spanish).

• Use the FEMA mobile app in English or Spanish.

• Call the disaster assistance helpline at 800-621-FEMA (3362) or 800-462-7585 (TTY) anytime from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. local time seven days a week until further notice. Multilingual operators are available.

All recovery centers are accessible to people with disabilities. Centers have assistive technology to aid in communication.

The South Dakota counties now designated for Individual Assistance are: Bon Homme, Charles Mix, Hutchinson, Minnehaha, Turner and Yankton; the Pine Ridge Reservation to include the counties of Oglala Lakota, Jackson, and Bennett; the Rosebud Reservation to include the counties of Mellette and Todd; and the Cheyenne River Sioux Reservation to include the counties of Dewey and Ziebach.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.