HURON — Ten outstanding women have been nominated by their communities to be honored at the Spirit of Dakota’s 35th Anniversary Celebration and Award Banquet in Huron. They are Angela Ehlers, Presho; Robyn Freedom Flickinger, DeSmet; Roberta Hindberg, Tea; Caryn Hojer, DeSmet; Sandra Larson, Box Elder; Coleen Liebsch, Arlington; Jody Moritz, Faulkton; Kristin Noem, Pierre; Marileen Tilberg, Onida; and Linda Witt, Bristol.

South Dakota’s premier woman’s award will be presented Saturday, Oct. 2, at the Huron Event Center.

The winner will be chosen by a statewide commission of Tona Rozum, Chair, Mitchell; Julie Garreau, Eagle Butte; Carol Johnson, Watertown; Julie M Johnson, Aberdeen; Jean Hunhoff, Yankton; Suzette Kirby, Sioux Falls; Marsha Sumpter, Kadoka; Ginger Thomson, Brookings; Watertown; and Bev Wright, Turton.

The award is given to a woman who has demonstrated vision, courage and strength of character in the development of her family, community and/or state.

All 10 women will be given distinguished recognition throughout the many activities planned including Tea in the Afternoon in the country home of Rodney & Beckie Freeman, an art show open to the public in the lobby of the Huron Event Center from 4-7 p.m., a 5:30 p.m. social and 6:30 p.m. banquet.

The winner receives an individually created framed bronze oval with the pioneer woman sculpted by South Dakota Artist Laureate Dale Lamphere and modeled after his nine-foot sculpture that stands outside the Crossroads Hotel.

Tickets for the banquet may be purchased at the Huron Chamber Office: 605-352-0000 or 1-800-487-6673.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.