PIERRE — Changes made to the South Dakota Codified Laws by the 2019 South Dakota Legislature can now be viewed on the Legislative Research Council’s website, https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/default.aspx.

A total of 218 bills from the 2019 session passed the Senate and House of Representatives and were signed into law. Unless a bill prescribes when it will take effect or it is passed at a special session, a bill becomes law on the first day of July after its passage.

South Dakota’s government is divided into three distinct branches. The legislative branch makes the laws, the executive branch carries out the laws, and the judicial branch interprets the laws.

While the Legislative Research Council maintains the codified laws, people having questions about specific laws should contact the state entity that oversees and regulates them. Contact information for state agencies, boards, and commissions is available on the South Dakota State Government website: http://sd.gov/.

For more information about South Dakota’s government and legislature, visit the Student Resources page on the Legislative Research Council website.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.