Scholastics - Yankton Press & Dakotan: Life


Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Tuesday, January 28, 2014 10:52 pm


AMES, Iowa — More than 6,900 Iowa State University undergraduates have been recognized for outstanding academic achievement by being named to the 2013 fall semester Dean’s List. Students named to the Dean’s List must have earned a grade point average of at least 3.50 on a 4.00 scale while carrying a minimum of 12 credit hours of graded course work.

Area students listed below qualified for the Dean’s List:

• Dakota Dunes — Anne Elizabeth Hartnett, Finance;

• Utica — Elizabeth Anne Hicks, Veterinary Medicine.


The following Gayville-Volin Junior High and High School students were named to the High Achievement and Academic honors rolls for the fall 2013 semester.

Students and their parents were invited to a Recognition Ceremony to honor all of the outstanding junior high and high school students who achieved the Fall Semester Academic Honor Roll and/or Perfect Attendance Roll. The ceremony was held on Saturday, Jan. 25, in the G-V School Gym. Each student was presented with a certificate for his or her achievements. A reception with refreshments was held for students and their parents after the recognition ceremony.

High Academic Honor Roll

(3.60 and above semester GPA)

High School — Dagny Anderson, Shenona Banks, Stephen Bergeson, Matthew Buckman, Maren Buffington, Kourtney Christopherson, Genevieve Clark, Grace Dangel, Samuel Hanson, Alexis Heier, Luke Hummel, Viola Ishmael, Justin Logue, Miranda Mellegaard, Laura Nelson, Maddison Nelson, Rachel Pokorney, Grant Rice, Lisa Rolfs, Vanessa Ryken, David Sindermann, Alex Taggart, Brandon VanOsdel, Brook VanOsdel

Junior High School — Parker Bailey, Meghan Buckman, Sarah Buckman, Ashley Emmick, Tristan Gustad, Wyatt Jorgensen, Cameron Jueden, Abby Larson, Katie Lee, Steven Leggett, Heather Maier, Jenna Wilhelm


Academic Honor Roll

(3.00-3.59 semester GPA)

High School — Zachary Anderson, Frank Cutts, Tara Doty, Bailey Gale, Nicole Guy, Shandra Hanson, Megan Hirsch, Jammie Hoffman, Traia Hubbard, Ralph Ishmael, DaNeila Jensen, Cassandra Lee, Chandler (CJ) Lee, Morgan Nielson, Hannah Rolfs

Junior High School, Elianna Clark, Jayden Engen, Chase Huether, Madisen Lee, Shelbi Lindner, Taven McKee, Skyler Olson, Cade Rickford, Colbey Rickford, Destinee Riedel


Perfect Attendance Roll

(no tardies or absences)

High School — Frank Cutts, Luke Hummel, Ralph Ishmael, Miranda Mellegaard, Laura Nelson, Hannah Rolfs

Junior High School — Parker Bailey

Savannah Chambers

LAWRENCE, Kan. — The University of Kansas recently announced its Dean’s Honor Roll for the fall 2013 semester.

Savannah Chambers of Yankton was placed on the honor roll with a 3.75 GPA.

Savannah, the daughter of Wes and Tracy Chambers, is a 2013 graduate of Yankton High School is a chemical engineering major.

Northern State             University

ABERDEEN — Northern State University in Aberdeen has released the dean’s list for the fall 2013 semester.

 Students who have earned at least a 3.5 grade point average for the semester are eligible for the dean’s list. There are four categories:

• Full-time students with a GPA of 3.5-3.99.

• Full-time students with a GPA of 4.0.

• Part-time students with a GPA of 3.5-3.99.

• Part-time students with a GPA of 4.0.

 Students who achieved dean’s list status and requested that their names be released to the media are listed below. Each category is listed separately.

Area Part-time students 4.00:

• Platte — John Patzlaff


Area Full-time students 3.50-3.99:

• Armour — Rubylin Schroeder, Donavan Soulek

• Beresford — Sophie Doeden

• Elk Point — Nicholas Murphy, Scott Shanks

• Geddes — Elizabeth Reddy

• Wagner — Devon Brecke


Area Full-time students 4.00:

• Beresford — Abigail Gylfe

• Lesterville — Kody Kyriss

• Tripp — Larissa Buchholz

• Yankton — Jena Nelson

Julie Bobzin-Chadwick    

Kaplan University of Burlington, Iowa, announces a graduate of their fall semester.

Julie Bobzin-Chadwick graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration degree, Cum Laude.

Julie is the daughter of Bill and Jane Bobzin of Yankton.

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
  • 2 Don't Threaten or Abuse. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated. AND PLEASE TURN OFF CAPS LOCK.
  • 3 Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
  • 4 Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 5 Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 6 Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Welcome to the discussion.

Follow us on Facebook